Google Docs Lesson 3

Prerequisite: 

Know the material from lesson 1 and 2

 

Overview

Google Docs is a great app! It is easy to connect with friends to write a report, a play, or just write for fun! Another option is to write independently. Google Docs brings your documents to life with smart editing and styling tools to help you easily format text and paragraphs. Choose from hundreds of fonts, add links, images, and drawings. All for free. All your changes are automatically saved as you type. You can even use revision history to see old versions of the same document, sorted by date and who made the change.

 

Lesson objectives

To name or rename a doc:

  1. From the "File" menu (in the edit screen) of the doc you'd like to rename, click, "Rename."
  2. Enter your chosen name in to the field provided. Once you click "OK," this new name will be applied to your doc, and will show up for all collaborators and viewers.

Note that the initial naming process works differently between documents, spreadsheets and presentations. Documents will default to the first few words you enter (or "Untitled," if you enter no text). To apply the name you'd like, you'll need to "Rename" from the "File" menu.

  • Presentations will default to "Untitled" until you specify a name using "Rename."
  • Spreadsheets will give you a prompt, right after they're created, asking you to name and begin saving the spreadsheet.

To find a doc:

When searching for a specific doc, there are a few options.

  1. To find a specific document quickly:
    From your Docs list, enter the name of the doc you'd like to find in the search box, near the top.
  2. To find a doc that's shared with a particular person:
    Select her or his user name from the "Shared with..." section of your Docs list sidebar. All of the docs shared with this person will appear, listed.
  3. To find a specific type of doc (document, spreadsheet or presentation):
    From your Docs list, under "Items by type" in the sidebar, select "Document," "Spreadsheet" or "Presentation."
  4. To find docs you've put in the trash, or hidden:
    Select either "Trash" or "Hidden" from the "All items" section at the top of your Docs list sidebar.

To delete a doc:

  1. Check the box to the left of the doc you'd like to delete.
  2. Click "Delete: from the toolbar.
  3. At this point, the document is deleted from the Docs list, but remains in your trash, and accessible to collaborators until you empty the trash. To empty the trash, continue with these instructions:
  4. Select "Trash" from the "All items" section of your sidebar.
  5. From the screen that appears, select the docs you'd like to delete and click "Empty Trash" from the toolbar. Only the items you selected will be deleted

- Once you've deleted a doc, there's no way to retrieve it. It will no longer be accessible by either you or your collaborators.

- While collaborators on a doc can put it in their own trash, this action won't affect the doc's owner or anyone else working on the doc, and they can't permanently delete a doc.

 

Activities

Finalize document and share it with the teacher. 

 

Steps

To share a doc:

  1. From within the document you'd like to share, click the "Share" tab, in the upper-right corner*.

  2. Enter the email addresses of whomever you'd like to add and select the button next to "As collaborators:" or

    "As viewers", depending on what kind of access you'd like them to have.

  3. Click "Invite collaborators."

  4. If you'd like, in the window that appears send an email to your collaborators explaining a little about the

    doc. Whether or not you send this email, your doc is now shared.

*A note about advanced permissions:

In the "Share" tab you'll notice a couple of options below the invite screen that bear further explanation.

  • "Collaborators may invite others" is exactly what it says -- an option that allows or prevents those you invite from inviting others to the doc.

  • "Invitations may be used by anyone" is a feature that allows invitations to be forwarded, and allow access to, anyone who receives them. In effect, this option works similarly to "Collaborators may invite others."

  • Note that when inviting a mailing list to collaborate on a doc, you'll need to have this option checked.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk